One of the surest ways to find out if you’re doing Work is to stop doing it and see what happens.

I took a 2 month break from it, and my life crumpled. I lost all sense of time, of obligation, of who and where and why. I did something related to it instead – or tried to, rather. It was related, but it was all me, not Them, and it was so, so hard. Like trying to turn a car without power steering. I foundered, but pressed on anyway because I don’t like leaving things unfinished.

Yesterday I went back to resuming the Work, and I was struck by how easy it was. How easily my body remembered. How right it felt. Time and place and the faces of people suddenly made sense again as though they had never stopped making sense.

I’m beginning to dread the project being over. What the hell will I do afterward?

Leave a Reply

