Things I Learned This Morning

1. There’s a reason I haven’t read anything on Patheos in at least 2 years.

2. I can’t help but giggle every time someone uses the term “fascist” to mean any authoritarian ideology that they don’t like. (see also: #6)

3. Hyperbole, when not used in the context of satire, is usually the most desperate strategy of those with nothing particularly interesting or compelling to say. Even worse than personal attacks – anyone can make a reasonable ad hominem.

4. I will probably have developed the most beautifully unrecognizable devotional practice when we finally get our asses out if the city and onto some land and into a house that will probably not even have running water. It will be spectacular. “UPG Acres”, we’ll call it. “Now with 95% less internet!”

5. If knowing how to interact with other polytheists comes at the price of having to keep up with the drama, then count me out.

6. I may be political, and I may be pious, but hot damn somebody shoot me the day I become humorless. I laugh so often and so heartily that I think our neighbors must be jealous of us. Quiet contemplation and lessons from St. Francis nonwithstanding, I have no time for people who cannot see the absurd in everything. (Maybe I’d make a good Dionysian?)

Ironically enough, it was Dver that made me realize that there was a brouhaha going on to begin with beyond the now-rote “Gods v politics” snorefest that’s been gripping the pagan blogosphere for some months now. D’oh!

One thought on “Things I Learned This Morning

  1. “I will probably have developed the most beautifully unrecognizable devotional practice when we finally get our asses out if the city and onto some land and into a house that will probably not even have running water. It will be spectacular. “UPG Acres”, we’ll call it. “Now with 95% less internet!””

    That sounds freaking fantastic. It makes me inexpressibly happy to think of all the polytheists and animists out there just doing their thing, interacting with their gods and spirits and land, without any input from the internet. Even if they entirely disagree with me about everything, I’d rather see that than people completely focused on what other humans are thinking/doing/saying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

