Hotel

Right now, I’m in a hotel room in southern Oregon.

This is actually the first hotel room I’ve ever had to myself– this is because it’s a Motel 6 and my uncle paid for the room because I just spent the past 8 hours doing a lot of really hard, intense helping of sorts for a family member, and there’s more to do tomorrow.

Anyways, this is the first hotel room I’ve ever had to myself, and the first I will sleep in by myself.

And this building is off.

My mother is spirit-bothered. More than anyone else I’ve ever encountered; more than all the spirit-workers I’ve ever interacted with combined. But she’s a Christian, and having been talking to spirits since she was an adolescent, she’s sick of it and has no interest in doing anything with her ability. And for better or worse, a little of that ability has been passed onto me (and also my father’s hyper-analytical-ness, mostly for worse).

So sometimes I set foot in a location and just know something about it that can’t be percieved without the subtle senses. This is one of those times. There is something wandering and restless here, and its going to make it hard for me to sleep, and there’s nothing I can do for it in the brief time that I have, so I’ll have to settle for a few spoken prayers to try and make my suite an uncomfortable place for it to be. If I gave time in the morning, I’ll try to do a little something for it, but we’ll see if I have the time of wherewithal.

The other thing of note is that for several years now I’ve held saying to myself that I’d never reality bring Thor into my practice because I already have a protector god of the storm that I’m devoted to, but in a flash of inspiration this evening it occurred to me really how complimentary they really are, and I felt some kind of compatibility with them… or maybe since kind of willingness to occupy a similar space in my practice.

Whoa. And also weird.

Anyways, long story short, that prayer I’ll be saying tonight? I’ll be addressing the both of them: the axe and the hammer.

Leave a Reply

